Cricket World Cup Final: A Comprehensive Overview

Unveiled: Secrets of the Cricket World Cup Final!

Final Match Details

India vs Australia: The Showdown on 19th November

Revisiting the 2003 final, Australia and India will face off at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The stadium, with a capacity of over 100,000, is expected to be filled to the brim with cricket enthusiasts eager to witness this historic event.

Journey to the Final

India’s Unbeaten Run

India dominated the group stage, securing a perfect score of 18 points by winning all nine matches. With a net run rate of 2.570, India stood head and shoulders above the rest during the group stage.

The semi-final saw India’s Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill set the stage on fire, followed by Virat Kohli’s 50th ODI century. Despite a brave century from New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell, the Kiwis fell short by 70 runs against India’s formidable 397.

Australia’s Resilient Comeback

Despite initial losses to India and South Africa, Australia made a remarkable comeback, winning seven consecutive matches to qualify with 14 points.

In the semi-final against South Africa, Australia, led by Pat Cummins, made a strong start, restricting the Proteas to 24/4. Despite David Miller’s century, Australia emerged victorious in a nail-biting three-wicket win.

Finalist Squads

India’s Power-packed Line-up

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia’s Formidable Squad

Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

World Cup Legacy

India, the tournament hosts, are aiming for their first major ICC global tournament victory in 12 years, buoyed by the home crowd advantage. Australia, the most successful nation in ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup history, are vying for their sixth win.

Contingency Plan: Reserve Day

In case of inclement weather preventing a result, a reserve day has been scheduled.

Prize Money Breakdown

The tournament boasts a prize pool of US$10 million. The champions will pocket US$4 million, while the runners-up will receive US$2 million. Additionally, each group stage win earned teams US$40,000.

Global Broadcast Details

The ICC’s Global broadcast partner Disney Star and its licensees will provide worldwide coverage of the match. In India, fans can tune into Star Sports Network, while Australian viewers can catch the action on Fox Sports, Kayo, Channel Nine, and 9Now. UK viewers can watch the match live on Sky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Mix, Sky Showcase, or digitally via the SkyGO and Sky Sports App. Channel 5 and My5 App will provide free-to-air highlights.

For fans in the USA, WillowTV will broadcast the match, with additional coverage available via the ESPN+ app. SuperSport will cater to viewers in South Africa and the 52 Sub-Saharan Africa territories. New Zealand fans can tune into Sky Sport NZ. In the UAE and the entire MENA region, matches will be streamed live on STARZPLAY, with broadcast coverage available on CricLife MAX in the UAE.

Final Match Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

The world’s largest sports stadium, which hosted the tournament opener and India’s win over Pakistan, will be the stage for the grand finale. The stadium, with a capacity of 132,000, was redeveloped in 2021 and has since hosted a day-night Test between India and England, as well as the last two IPL finals.

Live Scores and Updates

For live scores and updates of all matches at the Cricket World Cup 2023, visit