The date marks a cherished moment in Indian cricket history, as India faced Bangladesh in a must-win T20 World Cup encounter. The match culminated in a thrilling finish, with MS Dhoni’s wicketkeeping prowess propelling India to a narrow victory.
India, batting first, scored 146/7, thanks to contributions from Suresh Raina (30), Virat Kohli (24), and Shikhar Dhawan (23). In response, Bangladesh fought fiercely with key innings from Tamim Iqbal (35), Sabbir Rahman (26), and Shakib al Hasan (22).
The match’s climax hinged on the final over, with Hardik Pandya tasked to defend 11 runs. Following a single and a four, the equation stood at 6 off 4 balls. Mushfiqur Rahim then scored another boundary, leaving Bangladesh needing just 2 runs from 3 balls.
However, Rahim’s attempt to finish with a flourish resulted in a catch by Dhawan at deep mid-wicket. With 2 needed off 2, tension mounted. Pandya’s next ball saw another catch, this time by Ravindra Jadeja. The stage was set: 2 runs required off the final delivery.
Dhoni, anticipating the need for a swift throw, removed one glove. As Pandya bowled outside off, the batsman missed, prompting the Bangladeshi players to attempt a single. Instead of throwing, Dhoni sprinted from behind the wicket and dislodged the stumps.
The decision went to the third umpire, and replays revealed the batsman was inches short. Dhoni’s quick thinking and composure had secured India a heart-stopping one-run victory.
Image Credits – Reuters/Associated Press