WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians Face Delhi Capitals in the Thrilling Inaugural Championship Showdown

In the much-anticipated finale of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) inaugural edition, Mumbai Indians Women are set to clash with Delhi Capitals Women today.

Delhi Capitals demonstrated exceptional prowess during the league stages, securing victories in six out of their eight matches. They claimed the top spot on the table and advanced directly to the final. Meanwhile, Mumbai Indians finished second in the league stages. Led by Harmanpreet Kaur, they overpowered the UP Warriorz in the Eliminator with a 72-run victory, earning their place in the final.

Delhi’s captain Meg Lanning has emerged as the tournament’s top run-scorer, accumulating 310 runs in eight innings, averaging 51.66. Mumbai’s leading run-scorer is Nat Sciver Brunt, with 272 runs. Saika Ishaque leads Mumbai in wicket-taking, boasting 15 wickets, while Shikha Pandey’s 10 wickets make her Delhi’s star performer with the ball.

During the pre-final press conference, Mumbai’s skipper Harmanpreet Kaur highlighted the importance of experienced players: “Our overseas players bring a wealth of experience, having successfully led their respective teams. Our local players also possess extensive domestic cricket experience. This balanced team composition enables greater self-expression, rather than overthinking.”

Mumbai Indians Women: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia(w), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Melie Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque, Heather Graham, Chloe Tryon, Dhara Gujjar, Sonam Yadav, Neelam Bisht, Priyanka Bala

Delhi Capitals Women: Meg Lanning(c), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia(w), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Jasia Akhtar, Laura Harris, Tara Norris, Minnu Mani, Aparna Mondal, Titas Sadhu, Sneha Deepthi

Image Credits – WPL