World Cup Final Update: Australia Wins Toss, Elects to Bowl First Against India

Breaking: Australia Wins Toss

Australia Takes the Field First in World Cup Final Showdown with India

In a strategic move, Australia’s captain Pat Cummins won the toss and chose to bowl first, while India’s skipper Rohit Sharma expressed his preference for batting first. Both teams have retained the same line-up from their respective semi-final matches.

India Dominates the Tournament

After 46 days and 47 matches, the Cricket World Cup has reached its climax. India, a two-time champion, has dominated the tournament, winning all their matches across nine different venues. Their batting lineup has been formidable, and their bowling attack has been the envy of other teams. In a significant match at Ahmedabad during the World Cup, India triumphed over their long-standing rivals, Pakistan, by seven wickets.

Australia’s Impressive Comeback

Despite a shaky start, Australia has managed to win eight consecutive matches. The five-time champions have proven to be the second-best team in terms of results and have the potential to upset India’s winning streak. In their most recent match at the same venue, they defeated their traditional rivals, England, by 33 runs.

Team Composition and Player Updates

Aside from an injury to Hardik Pandya, India’s team has remained largely unchanged. Fifteen players have represented the team during the tournament, with a consistent lineup in recent matches. Despite some initial disruptions due to injuries and personal reasons, the Australian team has also found its rhythm.

Team Line-ups:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (c), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.