South Africa Takes the Bat as Australia Shocks with Major Selection Changes

Australia Stuns: South Africa Grabs Bat Amid Selection Shake-Up

Game 10: Australia Opts to Field First Against South Africa

Australia’s captain, Pat Cummins, made the strategic decision to field first in Lucknow. The decision was well-supported by Australia’s new-ball duo, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, who showcased their exceptional bowling skills in the early overs.

Australia’s Significant Lineup Changes

The major talking point at the time of the toss was the two significant changes in Australia’s lineup. Marcus Stoinis returned to the team after a near three-week absence, replacing Cameron Green. Additionally, wicket-keeper Josh Inglis was selected over Alex Carey, marking another major change in the team’s composition.

South Africa’s Tactical Adjustment

South Africa also made a strategic change, with Tabraiz Shamsi replacing Gerald Coetzee. Proteas captain, Temba Bavuma, indicated that both the conditions and the opposition influenced Shamsi’s inclusion.

The two teams have had differing starts to their World Cup campaigns. Australia faced a challenging track in Chennai and suffered a loss to India, while South Africa triumphed over Sri Lanka on a flat deck in Delhi.

Team Lineups


  • David Warner
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Steve Smith
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Josh Inglis (wk)
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Pat Cummins (c)
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Adam Zampa
  • Josh Hazlewood

South Africa:

  • Quinton de Kock (wk)
  • Temba Bavuma (c)
  • Rassie van der Dussen
  • Aiden Markram
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • David Miller
  • Marco Jansen
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Lungi Ngidi
  • Tabraiz Shamsi