India Takes the Bat in Mumbai: Sri Lanka Chooses to Field

Mumbai Showdown: India Bats

Match 33: Sri Lanka’s Strategic Decision to Field First Against India

After winning the toss, Sri Lanka’s captain, Kusal Mendis, made the strategic decision to field first. Dushan Hemantha was brought into the team, replacing Dhananjaya de Silva. Rohit Sharma, India’s captain, didn’t seem too bothered by the decision, expressing confidence in the pitch’s condition, despite some early advantages for the pacers. Sharma also hinted at the possibility of the ball jagging a bit as the evening progresses. India retained the same team that previously secured a victory against England in Lucknow.

India’s Unbeaten Run and Quest for Top Spot

India is determined to maintain their flawless start to the campaign, aiming for a seventh straight win that would guarantee their spot in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 knockout stage. The hosts also have their sights set on reclaiming the top spot in the standings from South Africa. However, they first need to overcome a determined Sri Lanka team that has much at stake.

India’s Winning Streak Continues Despite Pandya’s Absence

India is focused on continuing their winning streak, even without all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who remains out due to an ankle injury. The team hasn’t missed a beat since Mohammed Shami stepped in to fill the void.

Sri Lanka’s Fight Back After Loss to Afghanistan

Sri Lanka is under pressure to recover from a devastating loss to Afghanistan and revive their campaign, which is teetering on the edge with only two wins from six matches. With only Bangladesh and New Zealand left to play, the stakes are high.

Sri Lanka’s Squad Changes and Players to Watch

The 1996 World Cup champions have had to make several changes since arriving in India, including replacing skipper Dasun Shanaka, Lahiru Kumara, and Matheesha Pathirana. Additionally, star spinner Wanindu Hasaranga was ruled out before the tournament began. Despite these setbacks, Sri Lanka remains a formidable opponent with Sadeera Samarawickrama, Pathum Nissanka, and stand-in skipper Kusal Mendis showing impressive form with the bat. Dilshan Madushanka and Kasun Rajitha have also made significant contributions with the ball.

Team Lineups

India’s Playing XI:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Sri Lanka’s Playing XI:

Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (c) (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dushan Hemantha, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka.