ICC Announces Player of the Month Nominees for February

Unveiled: ICC's Player of the Month Nominees for February!

ICC Announces Player of the Month Nominees for February

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the shortlists for the ICC Men’s and Women’s Player of the Month awards for February 2024.

Several high-profile matches took place in the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) last month. The nominees for the ICC Men’s Player of the Month include two top run-scorers in the longest format and a record-breaking ODI batter from Sri Lanka.

Men’s Nominees

Yashasvi Jaiswal had an exceptional month at the crease, scoring consecutive double centuries to help India overturn a series deficit against England and secure three consecutive Test victories. Kane Williamson of New Zealand also shone in the WTC competition in February, accumulating runs as his team triumphed over a touring South Africa. Completing the lineup is Sri Lanka’s Pathum Nissanka, who made history against Afghanistan with his record-breaking batting feats.

Women’s Nominees

In the women’s game, three promising young all-rounders form the shortlist for the ICC Women’s Player of the Month award.

The UAE is proud to have two nominees, Kavisha Egodage and Esha Oza, who are shortlisted for their trophy-winning performances in the Asian Cricket Council Women’s Premier Cup. Also vying for her first Player of the Month title is Australia’s Annabel Sutherland, who set new records in her team’s Test victory over South Africa.

An independent ICC Voting Academy and fans worldwide are now invited to cast their votes to decide the winners, which will be announced next week. Fans registered at icc-cricket.com/awards can vote for their favourite performers until Saturday.

Details of the Nominees

ICC Men’s Player of the Month Nominees for February:

Yashasvi Jaiswal (IND)

Jaiswal is nominated for the first time in the ICC Player of the Month awards following a sensational month in Tests against England. India began the month trailing 1-0, but overturned the deficit with thanks in large part to the remarkable form of their young opener. Back-to-back double centuries came in Visakhapatnam and Rajkot – the latter equalling the record for most sixes in a Test innings with 12. With more runs coming in the fourth Test, the 22-year-old ended February having amassed 560 runs at an average of 112.

Pathum Nissanka (SL)

Nissanka is another of the record-breakers to feature on the shortlists in February’s Player of the Month awards. Across three ODIs and three T20Is against Afghanistan, the opener excelled, striking Sri Lanka’s first ever ODI double-century in the first outing in Pallekele (210 not out in 139 balls) to kick the series off in blistering fashion. More runs came in the third ODI, as Nissanka raised the bat once more with 118 in 101 balls to seal another convincing win, before a half-century in the final T20I showdown capped a fine month. In all, Nissanka hit 346 ODI runs and 91 T20I runs to earn his first nomination for the award.

Kane Williamson (NZ)

The evergreen Blackcaps batter is nominated for the first time since March 2023 after another series of century scores dominated the headlines in New Zealand’s first-ever Test series victory over South Africa. Williamson’s two Tests during February heralded 403 runs and the Player of the Series accolade, as he hit twin centuries in the first Test at Mount Maunganui (118 and 109) before his 133 in the second innings at Hamilton helped the hosts chase down 267 to seal a series whitewash.

ICC Women’s Player of the Month Nominees for February:

Kavisha Egodage (UAE)

20-year-old Egodage celebrates her first nomination since April 2023, and does so after an impressive string of contributions with bat and ball as the UAE claimed silverware in the Asian Cricket Council’s Women’s Premier Cup. The tournament began with Egodage striking a superb half-century and taking three wickets for three runs in their opening victory over China, before following up with more runs and wickets against Oman, Japan and Thailand among others. The all-rounder hit 218 runs and took eight wickets during the course of the competition.

Esha Oza (UAE)

Oza was another of the star performers from the UAE to seal their success at the Women’s Premier Cup, and the skipper claimed the Player of the Tournament award, topping the run-scoring charts with 249 runs at an average of 62.25. Her notable innings came against Oman, with Oza smashing 114 in just 69 balls. The all-rounder also chipped in at the final, hitting a crucial half-century as her side defeated Malaysia by 37 runs in a competitive final in Kuala Lumpur.

Annabel Sutherland (AUS)

Sutherland may have started the month with subdued scores against South Africa in their ODI matches, but stole the show with a remarkable display in the sole Test match in Perth. In testing conditions for batters, Sutherland came in to continue the Australia rebuild, before unleashing fireworks in her record-breaking 210 – the fastest ever in women’s Tests. She proved a valuable asset with the ball in hand too, taking three for 19 in the first South Africa innings, followed by two for 11 in the second, as the home side won by an innings.

ICC Player of the Month Voting Process:

The three nominees for each category are shortlisted based on performances from the first to the last day of each calendar month. The shortlist is then voted on by the independent ICC Voting Academy and fans worldwide. The ICC Voting Academy comprises prominent members of the cricket fraternity including well-known journalists, former players, broadcasters and members of the ICC Hall of Fame. The Voting Academy submit their votes by email and hold a 90 per cent share of the vote. Fans registered with the ICC can vote via the ICC website, accounting for the remaining 10 per cent. Winners are announced every second Monday of the month on ICC’s digital channels.

Voting Academy for ICC Player of the Month:

The Voting Academy includes representatives from Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, and others. Some of the notable members are Javed Hamim, Daniel Cherny, Lisa Sthalekar, Mohammad Sekander Ali, Md Ariful Islam Roney, Chris Stocks, Lydia Greenway, Ger Siggins, Clare Shillington, S Gomesh, Irfan Pathan, Craig Cumming, Sawera Pasha, Sana Mir, Zaahier Adams, Ashwell Prince, Azzam Ameen, Farveez Maharoof, Daren Ganga, Stacy Ann King, Lawrence Trusida, Grant Flower, Darren Allan Kyeyune, and Kyle Coetzer.