England Announces Revised XI for Third Test Against India

Breaking: England's Shocking Revised XI for India's Third Test!

England Announces Revised XI for Third Test Against India

England cricket team announced their revised playing XI for the third Test against India in Rajkot on Wednesday, 14th February. The team has made a single change from the squad that played the previous Test in Visakhapatnam.

Fast bowler Mark Wood has been brought into the team, replacing off-spinner Shoaib Bashir. This marks the first time in the series that England will feature two specialist fast bowlers in their attack.

Post shared by ICC
A post shared by ICC (@icc)

Wood was part of the England XI in the first Test where they clinched a victory against India by a narrow margin of 28 runs in Hyderabad. This was when Jimmy Anderson was absent. However, Wood did not manage to take any wickets in the two innings.

Anderson, who is on the verge of crossing the 700-wicket milestone, replaced Wood in the second Test at Visakhapatnam and claimed five wickets (3/47 & 2/29).

JUST IN: England have been hit with a big injury blow in the Test series against India. #WTC25 | #INDvENG

Bashir, who made his debut in the Vizag Test, managed to take four wickets, including that of Rohit Sharma – his first international wicket. His absence means that Rehan Ahmed and Tom Hartley will shoulder most of the spin-bowling responsibilities, with support from Joe Root.

Jack Leach has been ruled out of the remainder of the series due to a knee injury.

England’s Captain Ben Stokes is under the spotlight as he is set to play his 100th Test, becoming the 16th England player to reach this milestone.

England’s Revised XI:

  1. Zak Crawley
  2. Ben Duckett
  3. Ollie Pope
  4. Joe Root
  5. Jonny Bairstow
  6. Ben Stokes (c)
  7. Ben Foakes (wk)
  8. Rehan Ahmed
  9. Tom Hartley
  10. Mark Wood
  11. James Anderson