Cricket World Cup 2023: Bangladesh Takes the Lead, Chooses to Bat First Against Pakistan

Bangladesh Tops 2023 Cricket World Cup

Game 31: Bangladesh Takes the Initiative, Opts for Batting Against Pakistan

Shakib Al Hasan, the captain of the Bangladesh team, decided to bat first after winning the toss. He based his decision on the dry pitch conditions, similar to their previous match against the Netherlands, which he believed would favor spin bowling. The team made a single change from their last match, replacing Mahedi Hasan with Tawhid Hridoy.

Contrastingly, Pakistan made three changes to their lineup. Fakhar Zaman, Salman Agha, and Usama Mir replaced Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, and Shadab Khan.

Both Teams Struggling to Maintain Early Momentum

Both Pakistan and Bangladesh started the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 on a high note, but their performances have since dwindled, leaving them barely hanging on in the race for the knockout stage.

Pakistan, after starting with impressive wins over the Netherlands and Sri Lanka, is now on a four-match losing streak. This leaves them with little room for error in their pursuit of a semi-final spot. A fifth consecutive loss, this time against Bangladesh, would essentially eliminate their chances of advancing, despite having two more matches to play. However, a victory could reignite their hopes for a late tournament surge.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh finds themselves in an even more precarious situation. They are just above the last spot in the standings, with their only win coming from their tournament opener against Afghanistan.

Historical Context and Previous Encounters

Despite their current form, Bangladesh can draw inspiration from their first-ever ODI victory over Pakistan in the 1999 Cricket World Cup, where they triumphed by 62 runs. However, this is one of only five victories Bangladesh has secured in 38 ODIs against Pakistan, who have largely dominated their encounters.

The most recent match between the two teams was in the Super Four stage of the recent Asia Cup, where Pakistan extended their head-to-head record with a seven-wicket win.

Team Lineups

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf.

Bangladesh: Litton Das (wk), Tanzid Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Tawhid Hridoy, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam.