PNG Women’s Cricket Team Makes Impressive Debut in Official ODI

PNG Women's Cricket Team Shakes ODI with Stunning Debut!

PNG Women’s Cricket Team Makes Impressive Debut in Official ODI

The Papua New Guinea (PNG) women’s cricket team showcased their potential in their first-ever official One Day International (ODI) against Zimbabwe at the Harare Cricket Ground.

With this match, PNG has made history by becoming the 21st team to participate in official Women’s ODIs.

Since their international debut in September 2006, the journey of PNG has been a testament to their patience and perseverance.

They first made their presence felt in the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier from the East Asia-Pacific region in 2008 and 2011, but faced challenges in advancing beyond the regional qualifiers.

A significant milestone was reached in May 2022 when PNG, along with four other associate members – Netherlands, Scotland, Thailand, and the USA, were granted ODI status by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

PNG Women in action in their first-ever official ODI game | Image courtesy: Zimbabwe Cricket

While still adjusting to the rigours of ODIs, the Lewas have proven to be a formidable force in Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) since gaining status in 2018.

With an impressive record of 36 wins from 48 matches, they have twice triumphed in the Women’s T20I Pacific Cup across two editions, solidifying their reputation as a team to watch in the shorter format.

Despite suffering a defeat in their first official ODI, PNG had many positives to draw from the opening game of the three-match series.

Captain Brenda Tau led from the front with a commendable 72 and received good support from opening partner Naoani Vare. Tau nearly carried her bat through the innings but fell as the second-last wicket, helping PNG to post a total of 177 in 48 overs.

PNG gave Zimbabwe an early jolt with two wickets in the Powerplay, but half-centuries from Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano and skipper Mary-Anne Musonda guided the hosts to victory.

PNG is scheduled to play two more ODIs on 26 and 28 March, followed by a three-match T20I series commencing on 30 March.