Netherlands Opt to Bat First Against Sri Lanka in Crucial World Cup Match

Netherlands vs Sri Lanka: Shocking Decision to Bat First!

Following three consecutive losses, Sri Lanka is under pressure to secure a victory against the Netherlands in their ongoing Cricket World Cup campaign.

Unbeaten Streak at Stake for Sri Lanka

The 1996 World Cup champions, Sri Lanka, entered the tournament in India on a high note, having remained undefeated in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier. This included two impressive victories over the Netherlands. However, they now find themselves as the only team yet to register a win in the main event.

In their previous encounters with the Netherlands, Sri Lanka has maintained a perfect record, winning all five One Day Internationals (ODIs) between the two teams. This match, however, marks the first time Sri Lanka will be bowling first in their 50-over encounters.

Previous Encounters: A Recap

In the first Qualifier match, Sri Lanka managed to defend a modest total of 213, winning by 21 runs. They successfully dismantled the Netherlands’ batting line-up in the Super Six stage.

The Qualifier Final saw a more dominant performance from Sri Lanka, who bowled out the Netherlands for a mere 105, securing a victory by 128 runs.

Key Players to Watch

Sri Lankan spinner, Maheesh Theekshana, who claimed seven wickets across the two Qualifier matches, will be looking to make a significant impact in this crucial World Cup match. His performance could be a game-changer for Sri Lanka, particularly in the absence of Wanindu Hasaranga.

On the other hand, the Netherlands will be riding high on their recent victory over South Africa. Captain Scott Edwards, who scored a remarkable 78* off 69 balls in that match, will be a key player to watch.

Top Performers So Far

For Sri Lanka, stand-in skipper Kusal Mendis has been in fine form, scoring 209 runs in three innings. Sadeera Samarawickrama has also contributed significantly, amassing 139 runs.

Team Line-ups


Vikramjit Singh, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (c, wk), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren

Sri Lanka:

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (c, wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka