Injury Forces New Zealand to Re-shuffle Squad for Second Australia Test

Injury Shakes Up NZ Squad for Australia Test 2!

Injury Forces New Zealand to Re-shuffle Squad for Second Australia Test

Due to injuries, New Zealand is compelled to reorganize their team for the second Test against Australia. Two key players will be absent from the clash.

Will O’Rourke, the inexperienced fast bowler, has been ruled out of the second Test in Christchurch due to a hamstring injury he sustained on the third day of the opening Test in Wellington. Additionally, key batter Devon Conway will miss the match due to an injured thumb.

Despite the temptation to recall recently-retired quick Neil Wagner, New Zealand has opted to bring in uncapped pacer Ben Sears for the second and final Test against Australia. With Conway sidelined, batter Henry Nicholls will remain in the 13-player squad.

ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 Standings

India has moved to No.1, New Zealand has slipped to No.2, and Australia has strengthened their position. For the latest changes in the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 standings, visit

Although Sears has yet to make his Test debut for New Zealand, coach Gary Stead is confident that the 26-year-old is well-equipped to fill the void should he be selected.

“Ben’s a young bowler with a quality skill set,” Stead said. “He bowls with genuine pace and gets good bounce which is always a great asset in red ball cricket. We’ve been really impressed by his performances for the Black Caps in white ball cricket this summer and believe he can make the step up to the Test arena if called upon.”

Stead expressed disappointment for O’Rourke’s injury, especially after his promising start in international cricket. He remains hopeful for the 22-year-old’s future in the Black Caps.

Rachin Ravindra - ICC Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year | ICC Awards 2023

Conway, on the other hand, will be out for eight weeks as specialists have recommended surgery on his injured thumb. Stead expressed sympathy for Conway and assured support during his recovery.

The day New Zealand became the WTC21 Champions

Test Squad:

Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears, Kane Williamson, Will Young

Series Schedule

First Test – 29 February-4 March – Cello Basin Reserve, Wellington (Australia won by 172 runs)
Second Test – 8-12 March – Hagley Oval, Christchurch