De Kock’s Stellar Performance Propels South Africa to a Convincing Victory

De Kock's Epic Show Leads South Africa to Stunning Win!

South Africa’s triumphant win, their fourth in the tournament, has propelled them to second place in the standings, boasting the best net run rate among all ten teams. This victory has unfortunately pushed Bangladesh to the bottom of the table, below England.

De Kock’s Century and Late Assault by Klaasen and Miller

Quinton de Kock’s 20th ODI century, coupled with the late onslaught by Heinrich Klaasen and David Miller, propelled South Africa to a formidable first-innings total of 382/5 at the Wankhede Stadium. Despite a valiant century by Mahmudullah, Bangladesh’s response fell short, leading to a significant defeat.

After losing two early wickets, De Kock and Aiden Markram steadied South Africa’s innings. De Kock then took charge, hitting 22 boundaries in his impressive 174-run knock off 140 balls. The late surge by Klaasen and Miller, following De Kock’s departure, further bolstered South Africa’s total.

Match 23: South Africa Triumphs Over Bangladesh by 149 Runs

South Africa, under the leadership of stand-in captain Aiden Markram, opted to bat first after winning the toss. Bangladesh welcomed back their captain, Shakib Al Hasan, who was eager to restrict South Africa to a manageable total.

Despite a shaky start and losing two early wickets, South Africa maintained their aggressive approach. De Kock and Markram’s partnership laid a solid foundation for a substantial total. Klaasen’s arrival at the crease marked a shift in gears, and his powerful hitting, along with De Kock’s century, set South Africa on course for a massive total.

Mahmudullah’s Lone Battle Proves Insufficient

Chasing a mammoth target, Bangladesh’s hopes were dashed early on. Despite a valiant century by Mahmudullah, the team’s chase crumbled under the Wankhede lights. A series of quick wickets by South Africa’s bowlers left Bangladesh reeling, and despite Mahmudullah’s efforts, they fell short by 149 runs.

Team Line-ups

South Africa:

Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lizaad Williams


Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahmudullah, Nasum Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman