Corey Anderson Joins USA’s Squad for T20I Series Against Canada

Corey Anderson Shakes Up T20I Series: USA vs Canada!

Corey Anderson Joins USA’s Squad for T20I Series Against Canada

Ex-New Zealand player Corey Anderson has been selected for the USA’s squad in the upcoming T20I series against Canada, which kicks off on 7 April. The co-hosts of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 are using these five T20I matches as a warm-up for the main event, set to start on 1 June.

Anderson, who last represented the Black Caps in 2018, is now qualified to play for the USA following his move to America and the launch of Major League Cricket (MLC). The 33-year-old has been performing exceptionally, scoring over 900 runs in 28 innings at a strike rate of 146 in Minor League Cricket (MiLC), MLC’s developmental league.

Corey Anderson Match Hero for New Zealand v IND ICC WT20 2016

Relive Corey Anderson’s heroic performance for New Zealand against India in Match 13 of the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The squad also includes former India U19 player Harmeet Singh, ex-Canada captain Nitish Kumar, and former South Africa domestic players Andries Gous and Shadley Van Schalkwyk.

Despite being the highest run-scorer in MiLC history since its inception in 2021, former U19 World Cup-winning captain for India, Unmukt Chand, was surprisingly excluded from the squad.


Monank Patel (c), Aaron Jones (vc), Andries Gous, Corey Anderson, Gajanand Singh, Harmeet Singh, Jessy Singh, Milind Kumar, Nisarg Patel, Nitish Kumar, Noshtush Kenjige, Saurabh Netravalkar, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Steven Taylor, Usman Rafiq.

Reserve players:

Juanoy Drysdale, Saiteja Mukkamalla, Shayan Jahangir.

USA captain Monank Patel

USA captain Monank Patel, discussing the squad selection, stated: “This series is of great importance to our team with the ICC T20 World Cup on the horizon.

We have several new players joining the squad, and these matches will assist us in finding the right team dynamics and preparing adequately for the World Cup.”

The series will be held from 7 to 13 April at the Prairie View Cricket Complex (PVCC), in Houston, Texas.