Glenn Maxwell’s Spectacular Double Century: A Deep Dive into the Remarkable ODI Performance

Glenn Maxwell's Double Century: Unveiling the ODI Masterclass

Glenn Maxwell’s stunning double century on Tuesday in Mumbai was nothing short of a miracle, pulling Australia back from the brink at 91/7 in a 292-run chase. Alongside Pat Cummins, Maxwell orchestrated a 202-run partnership, with the captain contributing a mere 12 runs.

The pair remained undefeated, securing Australia’s spot in the 2023 Cricket World Cup semi-final. Let’s delve into the records Maxwell shattered during his extraordinary innings.

Australia’s entry into the #CWC23 semi-finals couldn’t have been more dramatic #AUSvAFG

First Middle-Order Batsman to Score a Double Century in ODIs

Until Maxwell’s remarkable innings in Mumbai, all 11 men’s ODI double centuries were scored by openers. The fact that a number 6 batsman was the first to achieve this feat underscores the magnitude of Maxwell’s accomplishment.

Record-Breaking Individual Score for Australia in ODIs

Maxwell also set a new record as the first Australian batsman to score a men’s ODI double century, surpassing Shane Watson’s 185* against Bangladesh. Belinda Clark remains the only other Australian to have scored a double century in ODIs, albeit in women’s cricket.

Unprecedented Individual Score in an ODI Run-Chase

Maxwell’s extraordinary 201* is the highest score by any batsman in the second innings of an ODI, surpassing Fakhar Zaman’s 193 against South Africa in Johannesburg in 2021.

Third Double Century in Cricket World Cup History

Maxwell’s phenomenal innings is only the third double century in a men’s Cricket World Cup match. Martin Guptill against West Indies and Chris Gayle against Zimbabwe (both in 2015) were the only others to achieve this feat before Maxwell.

Second Quickest ODI Double Century

Maxwell narrowly missed out on Ishan Kishan’s record, reaching his double century in 128 balls, just two less than the Indian wicket-keeper batsman’s record set last year against Bangladesh.