England Triumphs Over Netherlands in a Stellar Performance

England's Epic Win Over Netherlands: A Game to Remember!

England’s cricket team showcased a remarkable performance, with Dawid Malan’s aggressive 87 and Ben Stokes’ impressive century (108) leading the team to a commanding total in Pune. Stokes’ knock was highlighted by six fours and an equal number of sixes.

Despite a challenging target, the Netherlands’ chase fell short. Regular wickets taken by England’s pacers, David Willey and Chris Woakes, and spinners Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, ensured the Netherlands’ side was dismissed before completing their full quota of overs.

England Triumphs Over Netherlands by 160 Runs in Match 40

Chris Woakes’ exceptional performance with the new ball, including several near misses, led to the dismissal of Max O’Dowd. David Willey’s excellent delivery resulted in Colin Ackermann’s dismissal, leaving the Netherlands in a precarious position early on.

Wesley Barresi and Sybrand Engelbrecht managed to steady the ship, adding 54 runs for the third wicket before a mix-up led to Barresi’s run out. Engelbrecht’s dismissal (33) soon followed, leaving the Netherlands in need of a significant innings to boost their run rate.

Teja Nidamanuru’s arrival at the crease (41*) provided a brief respite for the Netherlands, with a quick 59 runs from 50 balls for the sixth wicket. However, the loss of captain Scott Edwards (38) and Logan van Beek soon after derailed the chase, with the Netherlands losing their last five wickets for just 16 runs, ending their innings at 179.

England’s Commanding First Innings

England’s innings started with a flurry of boundaries from Dawid Malan, despite an early scare from a delivery by Logan van Beek. The first Powerplay period ended with England maintaining a healthy run rate of seven, even after losing Jonny Bairstow to Aryan Dutt’s turn.

Malan continued his onslaught, looking set for his seventh ODI century. However, the Netherlands fought back, dismissing Joe Root and Malan in quick succession. Ben Stokes then took the reins, maintaining a steady flow of runs despite regular wickets falling at the other end.

With half their side dismissed by the 30-over mark, England needed a solid partnership. Chris Woakes and Stokes provided just that, adding a massive 129 runs for the seventh wicket in just 81 balls. The duo accelerated in the final ten overs, with Stokes leading England past 300.

England’s innings ended with a flurry of boundaries, with Stokes achieving his maiden Cricket World Cup century in the 48th over.

Match Details

England’s captain, Jos Buttler, won the toss and elected to bat first. Harry Brook and Gus Atkinson were brought back into the side, replacing Liam Livingstone and Mark Wood. Despite losing the toss, Netherlands’ captain Scott Edwards was not overly concerned, stating he would have also chosen to bat first. The Netherlands brought in Teja Nidamanuru in place of Saqib Zulfiqar.

Team Line-ups


Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Harry Brook, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (c) (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Gus Atkinson


Wesley Barresi, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Scott Edwards (c) (wk), Teja Nidamanuru, Bas de Leede, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren