Australia’s T20 World Cup Plans in Jeopardy as Key Pacer Suffers Injury

Shock Injury Puts Aussie's T20 World Cup Hopes on Edge!

Australia’s T20 World Cup Plans in Jeopardy as Key Pacer Suffers Injury

Australia’s cricket team faces uncertainty as key pacer Darcie Brown has been ruled out of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh due to a foot stress injury. The tour, which includes three ODIs and an equal number of T20Is, is set to commence on 21 March. The timeline for Brown’s return remains unclear.

This development could potentially disrupt Australia’s preparations for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, slated to take place in Bangladesh in September-October, particularly concerning their fast-bowling unit.

Brown, who was the third-highest wicket-taker for Australia in their victorious T20 World Cup campaign in 2023, is also recognised as one of the ICC 100% Cricket Superstars.

Darcie Brown, one of the ICC 100% Cricket Superstars

Originally, Brown was set to depart for Dhaka on Saturday. However, scans revealed a stress injury to the navicular bone in her left foot, leading to her staying back in Adelaide. This foot is crucial to her bowling action.

As of now, no replacement has been announced for Brown in Australia’s 15-member squad. Grace Harris, initially selected only for the T20I leg of the tour, will now be available for the entire tour.

With Brown’s absence, Tayla Vlaeminck is expected to shoulder additional responsibilities in the pace-bowling department. Vlaeminck herself has a history of serious navicular stress injuries and is making a comeback to international cricket after a shoulder injury, for the first time since January 2022.

Darcie Brown: Australia’s ‘one of a kind’ strike bowler at Women's T20WC 2023

The series is set to kick off on 21 March with the ODI leg, followed by T20Is. All matches will be held at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Australia Squad:

Alyssa Healy (c), Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath (vc), Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Tayla Vlaeminck