Niroshan Dickwella Recalled for Bangladesh T20Is After Three-Year Hiatus

Niroshan Dickwella's Epic Return to Bangladesh T20Is After 3 Years!

Niroshan Dickwella Recalled for Bangladesh T20Is After Three-Year Hiatus

In the lead-up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, Sri Lanka has made the strategic decision to recall Niroshan Dickwella to the T20I squad. This comes after Kusal Perera was ruled out due to illness. Dickwella last represented Sri Lanka in this format in 2021.

Perera was initially set to accompany the team to Bangladesh on Thursday, 29 February. However, a respiratory infection prevented him from doing so.

Related News: Hasaranga Suspended for Code of Conduct Breach

Nissan POTD - Dickwella scoop four

Dickwella is now expected to join the squad on Saturday, ahead of the first T20I scheduled for Monday. This move by Sri Lanka hints at Dickwella being a potential contender for the final T20 World Cup squad.

Despite playing Test matches for Sri Lanka last year, the 30-year-old wicketkeeper has not participated in white-ball cricket since 2022, and T20I since 2021. He has a record of 28 T20Is, averaging 18.46 with a single half-century to his credit.

The squad already includes another wicketkeeper, Sadeera Samarawickrama. In the absence of regular captain Wanindu Hasaranga, who is serving a two-match ban for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct, Charith Asalanka will lead the team in the first two T20Is.

Sri Lanka Squad for Bangladesh T20Is:

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Niroshan Dickwella.