ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: A Comprehensive Guide

Unveiling ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023: Your Ultimate Guide

As the countdown to the first ball of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 begins, here’s everything you need to know about the tournament.

Understanding the Tournament Structure

The 2023 edition will follow the same format as the 2019 Cricket World Cup. Ten teams will compete in a single round-robin format, with each team playing against every other team once. The top four teams will advance to the semi-finals, with the first and fourth-placed teams, and the second and third-placed teams, facing off against each other. The winners of these matches will compete in the final on 20 November.

Points Required for Semi-Finals Qualification

Based on the 2019 tournament, seven wins out of nine matches should secure a semi-final spot. However, teams with six wins may find themselves in a precarious position. In case of a tie on points, the total number of wins and then the net run rate will be considered. For instance, in 2019, New Zealand secured the fourth spot over Pakistan based on a superior net run rate, despite both teams having equal points and wins.

Qualification Process for Teams

India automatically qualified as the host nation. The next seven teams were determined based on their performance in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. The remaining two spots were filled by Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, who qualified through the Cricket World Cup Qualifier after finishing 10th and 13th respectively in the Super League.

Prize Money Breakdown

The tournament boasts a total prize pool of US$10 million. The champions will receive US$4 million, while the runners-up will get US$2 million. Additionally, each team will earn US$40,000 for every group stage win.

Venues Hosting the Matches

The tournament will be held across ten venues, ranging from Dharamsala in the north to Bangalore and Chennai in the south. The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the world’s largest sports stadium, will host the tournament opener, the India vs Pakistan match, and the final. Other venues include the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala, Eden Gardens in Kolkata, BRSABVE Cricket Stadium in Lucknow, Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, MCA International Stadium in Pune, and Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Reserve Days

Both semi-finals and the final have a reserve day scheduled. If required, matches on reserve days will be held a day after the originally scheduled date.

Ticket Information

Tickets for several matches are available, with others yet to be released for the general public. For more information, visit the official ICC Cricket World Cup ticketing website.

Match Schedule and Live Scores

For the complete match schedule and live scores, visit the official ICC Cricket World Cup website. All teams will also play two warm-up matches each, starting from 29 September.

Team Squads

All teams are required to finalize their 15-player squads before 28 September. Any replacements after this date will need ICC approval. The squads for all participating teams are listed below.

Team Kits

Several teams have unveiled their kits for the tournament. New Zealand’s kit pays homage to their 1996 campaign, while Pakistan’s kit features a modern twist on their classic green with three concentric stars symbolizing excellence, ambition, and cricketing achievements.