Australia Unchanged, New Zealand to Debut Pacer in Christchurch

New Zealand's Debut Pacer Shakes Up Christchurch

Australia Unchanged, New Zealand to Debut Pacer in Christchurch

Australia has announced an unchanged XI for the second and final Test against New Zealand, set to commence on Friday. Meanwhile, New Zealand has unveiled that an uncapped pace bowler will make his debut.

The current ICC World Test Championship victors have decided to stick with the winning combination that secured a decisive 172-run triumph over New Zealand in the first Test in Wellington.

Lyon Eager to Exploit Williamson’s Weakness in Milestone Test

This implies that Marnus Labuschagne, the No.3 batter, will continue to be a part of the team despite his recent slump in form. The seasoned foursome of captain Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, and Nathan Lyon will once again lead Australia’s bowling attack in the Hagley Oval showdown.

While New Zealand did not disclose their final XI for the second Test, captain Tim Southee announced that right-arm fast bowler Ben Sears will make his debut, replacing the injured Will O’Rourke.

Rachin Ravindra - ICC Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year | ICC Awards 2023

Having played 13 T20I for his country, Sears recently impressed with three wickets from two matches against Australia last month.

The final spot in New Zealand’s XI appears to be a contest between pacer Scott Kuggeleijn and left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner, with Southee set to announce his decision at the toss on Friday morning.

Winning moment of #WTC23 Final

Predicted Lineups:

New Zealand:

Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Tim Southee (c), Ben Sears


Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (c), Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood