Williamson’s Return Bolsters Kiwis as They Choose to Field First

Williamson's Return: Kiwis Opt to Field First

Match 11: Kiwis Triumph in Toss, Opt to Field Against Bangladesh

It was a rocky start for Bangladesh, losing a wicket on the very first delivery of the match. Litton Das, the star of their previous game, attempted an aggressive shot right off the bat but was caught out.

The Kiwis are invigorated by the return of their regular captain, Kane Williamson, who led them to the toss. Williamson’s successful call means the Black Caps will be bowling first. The reinstated captain takes the place of opener Will Young in the team. However, fast bowler Tim Southee remains absent from the Kiwi lineup.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh has made a change in their squad, bringing in Mahmudullah to replace spinner Mahedi Hasan.

So far in the Cricket World Cup, New Zealand has claimed victory in both their matches, while Bangladesh won their first game in Dharamsala, only to be defeated by England at the same location.

Team Lineups:

New Zealand:

Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult


Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam