Netherlands Opt to Field After Winning Toss

Netherlands Wins Toss

Match 6: Netherlands Choose to Field First Against New Zealand

In a repeat of his previous decision, Netherlands captain Scott Edwards won the toss and chose to field first. His New Zealand counterpart, Tom Latham, admitted that he would have made the same decision had he won the toss.

Impressive Start for the Dutch

The Netherlands team started strong, delivering three consecutive maiden overs after taking to the field.

Changes in the Netherlands Lineup

The Dutch team made two changes to their lineup, introducing Ryan Klein and Sybrand Engelbrecht into the playing XI. Engelbrecht, a former South Africa U19 player, was making his competitive cricket comeback after a hiatus since 2016. His last appearance was for Western Province in South Africa’s domestic cricket, where he scored an impressive 166 in his final first-class appearance.

Unfortunately, Logan van Beek was sidelined due to a hamstring strain.

New Zealand Welcomes Back Lockie Ferguson

New Zealand’s team was strengthened by the return of Lockie Ferguson, who replaced James Neesham. However, Kane Williamson and Tim Southee were not available for selection in this match.

Playing XI

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c) (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult
Netherlands: Vikramjit Singh, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (c) (wk), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Roelof van der Merwe, Ryan Klein, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren