MCG to Host Historic Day-Night Test in Women’s Ashes

Historic Women's Ashes Day-Night Test at MCG!

MCG to Host Historic Day-Night Test in Women’s Ashes

In a historic first, the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host a day-night Test match during the Women’s Ashes series between Australia and England.

This event also marks the first Women’s Test match to be held at the MCG since 1949, where the same two teams, Australia and England, faced off.

India, Pakistan to tour as Australia announces home summer schedule

The one-off Test, scheduled to start on 30 January 2025, will be the final fixture of the Women’s Ashes. The series will kick off with three One Day Internationals (ODIs) on 12 January, followed by three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) starting 20 January.

The multi-format points system awards four points for a Test win, two points for a draw, and two points for each win in the limited-overs matches.

Australia’s Men’s and Women’s teams have successfully retained the #Ashes after two thrilling series in England. See the highlights here.

Full Schedule:

ODI Series:

  • 12 January: North Sydney Oval, Sydney (Day)
  • 14 January: Junction Oval, Melbourne (Day)
  • 17 January: Bellerive Oval, Hobart (Day)

T20I Series:

  • 20 January: SCG, Sydney (Night)
  • 23 January: Manuka Oval, Canberra (Night)
  • 25 January: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Night)

One-off Test Match:

30 January-2 February: MCG, Melbourne (Day/Night)

Australia currently holds the Women’s Ashes title following a nail-biting series in England, which ended in an 8-8 draw.