Cricket News: Pakistan Announces Squad for T20I Series Against New Zealand

Breaking Cricket News: Pakistan's T20I Squad vs New Zealand Revealed!

Cricket News: Pakistan Announces Squad for T20I Series Against New Zealand

Babar Azam returns to captain Pakistan in the white-ball formats, leading the team in the forthcoming series against New Zealand on home soil.

The squad also welcomes back Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim, both of whom reversed their retirement decisions to make themselves available for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Haris Rauf, recently reinstated in Pakistan’s central contract list, failed to make the cut as he continues to recover from a shoulder injury that prematurely ended his Pakistan Super League (PSL) campaign.


Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan.

Non-travelling reserves:

Haseebullah Khan, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Sahibzada Farhan, Salman Ali Agha.

The genius of Babar Azam - as told by his friends and colleagues | T20WC 2022

Wahab Riaz, the newly-appointed senior team manager, commented on the return of Amir and Imad: “The decision to include Imad Wasim and Mohammad Amir was a straightforward one, given their availability for selection and considering Haris Rauf’s injury and Mohammad Nawaz’s current form.

“Both Amir and Imad possess undeniable match-winning capabilities, and we trust they will consistently deliver strong performances to bolster the team’s objectives.”

“As we prepare for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and West Indies, this series holds significant importance for Pakistan. Rather than solely focusing on the formidable New Zealand side, we aim to introspect and identify areas for improvement. I anticipate that players will seize the opportunities presented to strengthen their claims for the World Cup.”

CWC 19: Imad Wasim and the Afghanistan thriller

Pakistan have also revamped their coaching staff for the upcoming assignment, with former all-rounder Azhar Mahmood appointed as the head coach for the five-match series.

He will be supported by Mohammad Yousuf (batting coach) and Saeed Ajmal (spin-bowling coach) while Wahab Riaz, who was the chief selector, now assumes the role of team manager.

ALSO READ: Pakistan make team management shuffles for New Zealand series

The Pakistan team have amped up their preparation for the five-match series as well as the T20 World Cup with a 29-member fitness camp in Kakul, Abbottabad that started on 26 March and concluded on 8 April.

Babar’s men have a packed schedule heading into the T20 World Cup, leaving no stone unturned in their preparation for the mega-event. After the New Zealand series, Pakistan will travel to Ireland for a three-match T20I series starting 10 May after which they will face off against defending champions England in four T20Is.

Clicks from the ongoing fitness camp at Army School of Physical Training (ASPT), Kakul #PAKvNZ | #BackTheBoysInGreen

New Zealand series schedule:

18 April – 1st T20I, Rawalpindi
20 April – 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi
21 April – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi
25 April – 4th T20I, Lahore
27 April – 5th T20I, Lahore