PCB Unveils Three-Year Central Contract List for Men’s Cricket

PCB Reveals Exclusive 3-Year Contract List for Men's Cricket!

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a three-year central contract list, benefiting 25 cricketers. This contract includes a share of the International Cricket Council (ICC) revenue.

Financial Model and Performance Review

The financial model for these contracts will remain fixed for the three-year tenure. However, the players’ performances will be evaluated annually.

Revamped Contract Structure

The new contract list marks a significant shift from the previous year, merging red-ball and white-ball national contracts. The central contract committee suggested this change to better assess players’ match-winning potential.

Player Categories and Remuneration

Players are classified into four categories, each with a substantial increase in their monthly retainers. The ICC’s revenue will be factored into the overall monthly remuneration.

Match Fees Increase

Players will also see a significant rise in match fees, with a 50% increase for Test matches, 25% for ODIs, and 12.5% for T20Is.

PCB’s Commitment to Players

Zaka Ashraf, Chairperson of the PCB Management Committee, emphasized the board’s commitment to the players. He stated that the players are the true assets of Pakistan cricket and their welfare and provision of the best possible services are the board’s top priorities.

This contract is a testament to the board’s commitment to improving the players’ financial health, recognizing their hard work and dedication to the game. Ashraf believes that a financially secure and motivated team is more likely to excel on the field.

Historic Deal for Pakistan Cricket

Pakistan’s skipper, Babar Azam, praised the new contracts as a historic deal. He expressed his satisfaction with the agreement with PCB and said that it signifies a new chapter in the players’ careers and in Pakistan cricket. He added that the team is now fully prepared for the upcoming ICC Men’s World Cup.

Central Contract List Breakdown

Category A:

Babar Azam, Mohammed Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B:

Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammed Nawaz, Naseem Shah, and Shadab Khan

Category C:

Imad Wasim and Abdullah Shafique

Category D:

Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Mohammed Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmad, Saud Shakeel, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Usama Mir, and Zaman Khan

Upcoming Matches

Pakistan is set to participate in two warm-up matches against Australia and New Zealand, before starting their World Cup campaign against the Netherlands in Hyderabad on 6 October.