Starc Outshines Lillee as Australia Overpowers New Zealand in Christchurch

Starc Outshines Lillee: Australia's Triumph Over NZ!

Starc Outshines Lillee as Australia Overpowers New Zealand in Christchurch

New Zealand vs Australia, Scorecard

In a remarkable display of bowling prowess, Mitchell Starc surpassed Dennis Lillee’s record for most Test wickets by an Australian bowler. This feat was achieved during the first two sessions of the opening day of the second Test against New Zealand, where Australia, the reigning ICC World Test Championship winners, dominated.

Starc’s impressive figures of 3/59 helped Australia dismiss New Zealand for a mere 162 at Hagley Oval. This achievement propelled him past Lillee’s total of 355 Test wickets, making Starc the fourth highest wicket-taker in Test matches for Australia.

For more cricket insights, listen to The ICC Review podcast here.

Australian Men’s Top Test Wicket-Takers

Shane Warne 708
Glenn McGrath 563
Nathan Lyon 527
Mitchell Starc 357
Dennis Lillee 355

Starc’s total of 357 wickets places him behind only Shane Warne (708), Glenn McGrath (563), and Nathan Lyon (527). Meanwhile, Josh Hazlewood is also making strides with his total of 271 wickets, following his five-wicket haul of 5/31 against New Zealand.

The Australian bowlers dominated the early stages of the match in Christchurch. The 100th Test celebrations for New Zealand’s Kane Williamson and Tim Southee were quickly overshadowed by the visitors’ formidable performance with the ball.

New Zealand were dismissed within two sessions at Hagley Oval, a testament to the Australian bowlers’ dominance. #NZvAUS | #WTC25


Tom Latham was the only New Zealand batter to score above 30, while world’s No.1 ranked Test batter Kane Williamson was dismissed for 17, becoming one of Hazlewood’s five victims. He was declared LBW early in the middle session.

Starc continued his wicket-taking spree with consecutive dismissals. Some late hitting from Matt Henry (29) and Southee (26) allowed the hosts to just cross the 150 mark after they were put into bat first by Australian skipper Pat Cummins.