ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: Unveiling the Prize Money

Cricket World Cup 2023: Unmasking the Massive Prize Money!

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has disclosed the prize money for the upcoming Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The victorious team will pocket a whopping USD 4 million from the total prize pool of USD 10 million. The announcement was made on 22 September, with the runners-up set to receive USD 2 million. The grand finale will take place on 19 November at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Format and Prize Money for Group Stage Matches

The tournament will follow a round-robin format in the Group Stage, where each of the 10 teams will face off against each other once. The top four teams on the points table will advance to the semi-finals. Notably, there’s a financial incentive for each Group Stage victory, with teams earning USD 40,000 per win. Teams that don’t make it past the Group Stage will still receive USD 100,000 each.

Equal Prize Money for Men’s and Women’s World Cup

The ICC has also set a precedent for the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2025 by announcing equal prize money for both the men’s and women’s tournaments. This decision was made public during the Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa, in July 2023.

Prize Money Breakdown for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023


Prize Money (US$)

Total (US$)







Semi-Final Losers (2)



Teams Out After Group Stage (6)



Group Stage Match Winners (45)





Teams Competing for the Coveted Trophy

A total of 10 teams will be battling it out for the prestigious World Cup trophy in the 13th edition of this flagship event. India, as the host nation, automatically qualifies, while New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa have advanced from the Super League. Sri Lanka and the Netherlands earned their spots through the Qualifier.

World Cup Schedule and Venues

The cricketing extravaganza, featuring 48 matches across 10 venues, will kick off on 5 October. The opening match will be a rematch of the previous edition’s final between defending champions England and New Zealand. To prepare for the 46-day-long tournament, each team will participate in two warm-up matches before the World Cup officially begins.